António Horta Osório to strengthen José de Mello’s Board of Directors

Aug 25, 2022

António Horta Osório will join the Board of Directors of José de Mello, the holding company of the José de Mello Group, taking up his non-executive duties on the 1st of September.

António Horta Osório began his professional career at Citibank Portugal in 1987, before moving on to Goldman Sachs. Since 1993, he has gained vast international experience in leading financial institutions in Portugal, Brazil, the UK and Switzerland, having worked for Santander, Lloyds and Credit Suisse. He currently holds non-executive positions on the boards of Bial, Impresa and the Champalimaud Foundation.

“Given his background and international experience, António Horta Osório will make an important contribution to achieving our strategic vision and ambition for growth in the coming years”, says Vasco de Mello, chairman of the Board of Directors of José de Mello.

António Horta Osório states that he accepts “the challenge to contribute to the implementation of the growth and internationalisation strategy of the José de Mello Group with great enthusiasm and a sense of responsibility”.

As a result of this change, the Board of Directors of José de Mello will be made up of the following members: Vasco de Mello (chairman), Pedro de Mello and Salvador de Mello (vice-chairmen), António Horta Osório, Gonçalo de Mello, Isabel Jonet, João Azevedo Coutinho, João de Mello, Luís Brito de Goes, Maria Amélia de Mello Bleck, Pablo Forero, Pedro Rocha e Melo, Raúl Galamba de Oliveira and Rui Diniz.

The Executive Committee of José de Mello maintains the following members: Salvador de Mello (CEO), João Azevedo Coutinho, João de Mello, Luís Brito de Goes, Pedro Rocha e Melo and Rui Diniz.